New Years Photo Essay

Happy New Year! Now that the holidays have passed and I have had time to reflect on 2015, and the work ahead of me in 2016, I realize my last few months have been filled with many inspirational works of art, design, and urbanism. November led me to design intended to inspire generosity through CANstruction at DC’s National Building Museum. Early December took me to Miami just in time to see a multitude of street art being painted in the Wynwood District in preparation for Art Basel. Via the internet I was able to keep up with friends in Singapore working to train up the next generation of urban explorers and citizens. Then during Christmas and New Years I explored LA and Palm Springs with family. There we saw works of art in LA that made us want to play, pause and reflect at the Getty and LACAMA. Desert Modernism architecture led us to appreciate the simplicity of form following function in Palm Springs. Finally back at home last weekend I visited the newly remodeled Renwick Gallery, where its new exhibition left me with a feeling of wonder about many things in nature, art and our cities.

As I prepare to be involved in some new projects in 2016 that will teach the next generation about architecture, urbanism and design, I am grateful for the inspiration I have found in 2015 from many people working to make our urban spaces better. I look forward to sharing these innovative urban ideas and art works with others in the year ahead. In the mean time, please enjoy my photo essay summarizing my last few months of urban exploration.

IMG_3210

CANstruction at the National Building Museum, Washington DC, photo November 2015  

 

IMG_3327

Street Art in Miami’s Wynwood District during Art Basel 2015, photo December 2015

 

Be an Urban Explorer Workshop! by friends at Participate in Design, Singapore December 5, 2015

 

IMG_3478

“Hearth” by Cooper Jones and Maureen McGee (2015)
District Architecture Center, Washington DC, photo December 2015

 

IMG_3775

Ancient Roman Statue of Cybele, “protectress of cities”  Getty Villa, Pacific Palisades, CA, photo December 2015

 

IMG_3673

Children playing in Jesús Rafael Soto’s “Penetrable” (1990)

LACMA, Los Angeles, photo December 2015

 

IMG_3652

Chris Burden’s “Urban Light” (2008) at LACAMA, Los Angeles, photo December 2015

 

IMG_3934

Palm Springs City Hall, architect Albert Frey 1952, Palm Springs, photo January 2016

 

IMG_4021

Plexus A1 by Gabriel Dawe (2015)

Wonder Exhibition, Renwick Gallery Washington DC, photo January 2016

 

IMG_4044

 1.8 by Janet Echelman (2015)
Wonder Exhibition, Renwick Gallery Washington DC, photo January 2016

 

All photos were taken by the author. Video by Participate in Design

Leave a Reply

